what? am I making

The last few weeks have been one of those odd times where I don’t feel a really strong push in one direction. My usual way of doing things is to focus intensely on one thing for a shortish amount of time, and then move on to something else. Incidentally it’s been a long-term thing to try to stretch that focus out a bit so that I can work more consistently on larger projects. But anyway, I’ve felt becalmed lately, and this doesn’t happen that often, so it’s a strange sensation. Kind of puzzling, like — what’s going to happen next?

It’s an early Spring here. You’d think that would get the creative urge going; however it seems to be doing the opposite. On the other hand, I tend to do things backwards at first. Maybe then this is the natural state of affairs. It’s sort of making room for doing a lot of little things in a leisurely and lazy way.

Transplanted the tomatoes to four inch pots:

Found a cool Python editor — basically a livecoding editor — called Reinteract. Haven’t got it to work with pyglet yet, probably because pyglet’s event loop and the Reinteract GTK loop won’t play together nicely without some hacking. Someone on the Leo list clued me to Reinteract, so maybe someone on the list will run with a Leo to Reinteract bridge. It’s a pretty cool IDE, I recommend checking it out.

Starting to play around with an idea for an IF news service. I think as more and more people are blogging on IF, combined with the various forums and newsgroups, some way of feeding (and possibly filtering based on the recipient?) the flow of community information will become more valuable. I like Planet IF but it’s not really serving this purpose at the moment, and I’m not sure that it could; what I’d like is something that gathers all the disparate sources. And well, since I obsessively read everything anyway, why not put that to some good use. The first iteration was just me collecting links. I have some ideas on where to take that but nothing solid yet. I also have wanted to get more into web stuff so this would be a nice project for that.

Worked some more on mockups for a Python IF IDE in GIMP and Inkscape, and realized that’s harder than I thought it would be! I’d really like to work more on drawing to make this easier. As a result I’ve started to learn the Qt framework for GUIs, which is easier than I thought it would be. So there you have that.

While in the library today to pick up a book (and pay my overdue fines, again; I think I must support several librarian’s wages really) a book on display caught my eye, The Assault by Harry Mulisch. In the first part of the book a 13 year old boy witnesses a German collaborator gunned down by the resistance in front of his house, his brother disappears into the night with the collaborator’s gun, and the Germans arrest his family and destroy his house with grenades and flamethrowers. Then he spends the night in a jail cell with a beautiful wounded Communist terrorist, narrowly escapes death the next morning when an Allied fighter strafes his convoy en route to Amsterdam, and finally reaches safety in the arms of his uncle. Mulisch is a prominent Dutch author (who I had never heard of) and it shows, the writing is masterful even in translation, and shares a lot with two of my favorite writers, Saramago and Murakami, in the way their narrative voice exists on top, through, and under the work itself.

As usual I have a list of ideas a mile long. Something is brewing, I just don’t know what.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

