Neal Stephenson at University Temple United Methodist

So last night I heard Neal Stephenson read up by the University. I didn’t really know what to expect — actually it’s better to say I deliberately had set no expectations, because I like Stephenson’s writing a lot and was a little worried I would be disappointed by him personally. Maybe this shouldn’t be a problem for me but I’ve never been able to fully extricate my opinion of an artist from my appreciation of their work. It’s not like I’m a hardcore fan or anything, I’ve read only a few of his books. Snow Crash of course made a big impression on me when I was a skateboard riding hacker punk [some details may have been changed to protect the innocent – ed.] many moons ago.

Anyway, it turned out I had nothing to worry about, because Stephenson was pretty cool, refreshingly free of any bullshit. The recording below is full of echoes unfortunately (the reading was in a church) but I didn’t want to put too much into editing. I think I could clean it up with postfish but I need to check that out, I’ve never used it. Don’t worry, there’s still some good stuff in there.

Reading from Anathem

Q&A

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

