+ sound

So I’m pysched lately because I’m starting a new thing that I’ve been wanting to do for a long time. After much reading of reviews and gazing at EBay, Craigslist &c. I went out to (local) Streamline Audio (totally nice there) and got a digital field recorder! My choice after looking at the Zoom H-4 and H-2, Edirol r-09, m-Audio MicroTrack and a couple of others was the Marantz PMD620.

Marantz PMD620

All of the super-portable recorders seem to have their pros and cons at this price level, but for me the Marantz has the features (good and basic) and the form factor (streamlined) I was looking for.

I took it out of the box and within seconds I was up and running; it’s really very easy to use, feels well-made and just solid. In the coming weeks I’m going to record some readings and talks, use Audacity to edit the files and then put the mp3s up here. In the farther future I want to experiment a little, possibly making some IF/audio games. OK!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

