Am I the only one getting tired of people, who criticize IFComp games for their lack of depth, gameplay, story, characterization, posting their ‘reviews’ as if they were blank verse — you know,

Liked the opening…what’s with the cat? OK, another guess-the-verb. Writing competent, implementation could use some work…

Maybe it’s just me. However when I looked at my IFComp journal it looked pretty much like that. So I’ll spare you another bucket of dross masquerading as critique. Instead here are my top ten games (compare to the top ten voted).

  1. Legion, 8.3
  2. Tales of the Traveling Swordsman, 8
  3. Mobius, 8
  4. Madam Spider’s Web, 7.6
  5. Floatpoint, 7.3
  6. Unauthorized Termination, 7.3
  7. Requiem, 7
  8. Xen: The Hunt, 7
  9. Primrose Path, 6.3
  10. The Bible Retold 6.3
2 comments so far

  1. Merk on

    Your top ten is a little out of order from the final results, but with only two or three exceptions, you pegged all of them.

    I for one am always interested in comments, even if they’re just like everybody else’s. That they’re not real reviews usually don’t bother me, if the feedback is honest and somewhat helpful. 🙂

  2. kooneiform on

    I should revise my top ten to include Delightful Wallpaper, which I got into only after the comp was over and the reviews came out.

    Yes, I imagine for the authors the feedback is helpful, just not for the readers :).


Leave a Reply

