Adrift

I’ve played a couple of Adrift games for the IFComp so far and I have to admit that I started those games with a bias. An anti-Adrift bias, merely because the general sentiment from IF sites and newsgroups was that Adrift was OK if you didn’t want to ‘get into’ the programming of an IF work, but for real IF you want to use a ‘powerful’ language such as Inform, TADS, or Hugo, and so most Adrift games would be relatively ‘simple’, or ‘limited’.

Well of course this is utter nonsense, and I’m glad that the IfComp provided me a game to shatter my prejudices. However it’s telling how subtly community pressure can influence my opinion on something like which IF language to use.

38 more days of judging and 34 more games to play!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

